Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Louisiana » Rapides Parish

Rapides Parish

Rapides Parish is named for the local river rapid which are “rapides” in French.


Surrounding Parish Courthouses: 

N – Natchitoches Parish and Grant Parish

E – La Salle Parish and Avoyelles Parish

S – Avoyelles Parish, Evangeline Parish and Allen Parish

W – Vernon Parish


Created:  April 10, 1805                                      Location within the U.S. state of Louisiana

Parish Seat: 

Alexandria  1807 – present


Parish Courthouse – Alexandria  


Location:  701 Murray Street / Foisy Street

Built:  1938 – 1939

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Edward F Neild, D A Somdal and Edward F Neild Jr.

Contractor:  James T Taylor.


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a seven story concrete structure. The northwest front has a high center section with two high divides with windows between. The windows have vertical brown panels between. The north and south sides are lower and one story wings extend from the corners. The roof line is flat. In the interior the Parish District Court courtroom is located on the third story of the addition on the southeast side. The building houses the Parish District Court of the 9th Judicial District.  A rectangular shaped three story addition was constructed in 1974 on the southeast side of the building.


History:  The parish was created in 1805 and Alexandria was selected as the parish seat in 1807. The first courthouse was built in 1859 and the second courthouse was built in 1873. In 1903, the third courthouse was designed by J Reilly Gordon and constructed by F B Hull Construction Company. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1939 at a cost of $588,825.



Parish Courthouse – Alexandria















New Addition 1974









Parish District Court courtroom









Cornerstone 1903 Courthouse

Photos taken 2011 and 2017