Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Louisiana » La Salle Parish

La Salle Parish

La Salle Parish is named for Rene-Robert Cavelier, Sieur de La Salle, who was a French explorer.


Surrounding Parish Courthouses: 

N – Caldwell Parish

E – Catahoula Parish

S – Avoyelles Parish and Rapides Parish

W – Grant Parish and Winn Parish


Created:  January 1, 1910                                  Location within the U.S. state of Louisiana

Parish Seat: 

Jena  1910 – present


Parish Courthouse – Jena  


Location:  1050 Courthouse Street / North 1st Street

Built:  1967 – 1968

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Barrow, Heinberg & Brocato of Alexandria

Contractor:  McInnis Brothers


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story stone, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Jena.  The south front has a recessed central entrance. There are pillars supporting the wide over hanging roof. Certain section project from the main building. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the building has a central foyer with the Parish District Court courtroom on the west side and the Parish Police Jury Room on the east side. The building houses the Parish District Court of the 28th Judicial District. The building was restored after a fire in 2004.


See:  The architect, Barrow, Heinberg & Brocato of Alexandria, also designed the courthouse in Grant Parrish.


History:  The parish was created in 1910 and Jena was selected as the parish seat. The first courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by Emile Weil and constructed by C D Stewart in 1910. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1967 to 1968.



Parish Courthouse – Jena

















Parish District Court courtroom



















Parish Police Jury Room











Photos taken 2011 and 2019