Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Louisiana » Lafourche Parish

Lafourche Parish

Lafourche Parish is named for the French word “la fourche” meaning “the fork” of the Mississippi River.


Surrounding Parish Courthouses: 

N – Saint James Parish and Saint John the Baptist Parish

E – Saint Charles Parish and Jefferson Parish

S – Gulf of Mexico

W – Terrebonne Parish and Assumption Parish


Created:  April 10, 1805                          Map of Louisiana highlighting Lafourche Parish

Parish Seat: 

Thibodaux  1807 – present


Parish Courthouse – Thibodaux  


Location:  200 Green Street / West 3rd Street

Built:  1858 – 1862

Style:  Beaux Arts and Baroque

Architect:  John Lyall, F Michael and A B Thibodaux

Contractor:  John Lyall, F Michael and A B Thibodaux


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story masonry structure sheathed in white colored stucco. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Thibodaux.  The original building had a south and east wing added in 1903, a southeast wing was added in 1951 and a north wing was added in 1958. The west front has a large portico supported by four large white colored columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. On the center of the roof is a rounded dome. The building contains St Clair Golden Vein marble from Guion, Arkansas. The Parish District Court courtrooms are located on the second story. Originally the main entrance was on the north side of the building facing Bayou Lafourche and which had a large portico similar to the west portico. The architect for the 1903 additions was Favrot & Livaudais. In 1958, the architect was Fernand T Picou and the contractor was J B Talley & Company. The building was renovated in 1959. On the south side of the courthouse is the Lafourche Parish Building which houses Parish District Court courtrooms on the second and third stories. The building was formerly a library. On the west side of the Lafourche Parish Building is the Old Jail.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Lafourche Parish Courthouse


History: The parish was created in 1805 and Thibodaux was selected as the parish seat. The first courthouse was built in in 1818 and the second courthouse built in 1846. In 1852, the Parish Police Jury appointed John Lyall F Michael and A B Thibodaux to develop plans and oversee the construction of the third and present courthouse and which is the second oldest courthouse in Louisiana, still in use.


See:  Other old courthouses still in use are located in East Feliciana Parish ( 1841 ), Saint Martin Parish ( 1859 ) and Claiborne Parish ( 1861 )  



Parish Courthouse – Thibodaux























Parish District Court courtroom











Parish Building – Thibodaux







Parish District Court courtroom





Old Parish Jail – Thibodaux



Photos taken 2011 and 2019