Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Louisiana » Saint Charles Parish

Saint Charles Parish

Saint Charles Parish is named for St. Charles Borromeo, who was an Italian saint and cardinal of the Roman Catholic Church.


Surrounding Parish Courthouses: 

N – Saint John the Baptist Parish and Tangipahoa Parish

E – Jefferson Parish 

S – Lafourche Parish

W – Lafourche Parish and Saint John the Baptist Parish


Created:  March 31, 1807                       Map of Louisiana highlighting St. Charles Parish

Parish Seat: 

Hahnville  1807 – present


Parish Courthouse – Hahnville  


Location:  15045 River Road / Courthouse Lane

Built:  1974 – 1976

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Gimini and Meric & Associates, Inc.

Contractor:  Mid-Gulf Construction, Inc.


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story light brown colored concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Hanville. The north front has vertical glass walls with an external overhang supported by concrete dividers. There are entrances at the northeast and northwest corners. The roof line is flat with a wide horizontal section below. In the interior, there is lobby along the north side with stairs ascending the second story. The Parish District Court courtrooms are located on the south side of the second story. The building houses the Parish District Court of the 29th Judicial District. 


History:  The parish was created in 1807 and Hahnville was selected as the parish seat. The first courthouse was built 1804 in St Charles Courthouse. The second courthouse was built in Hahnville in 1826 and was remodeled in 1852 and further remodeled in 1921 by William R Burk as architect. The building was torn down when the third and present courthouse was constructed in 1976.



Parish Courthouse – Hahnville





























Parish District Court courtroom













Model 1826 Parish Courthouse

Photos taken 2011 and 2019