Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Louisiana » East Feliciana Parish

East Feliciana Parish

East Feliciana Parish is named for Felicite de Galvez, who was the wife of Bernardo de Galvez a Spanish governor of the Louisiana Territory.


Surrounding Parish and County Courthouses: 

N – Wilkinson County, Mississippi and Amite County, Mississippi

E – Saint Helena Parish

S – East Baton Rouge Parish and West Baton Rouge Parish

W – West Feliciana Parish


Created:  February 17, 1824                  Map of Louisiana highlighting East Feliciana Parish

Parish Seat: 

Clinton  1824 – present


Parish Courthouse – Clinton  


Location:  12305 Saint Helena Street / Bank Street

Built:  1840 – 1841

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  J S Savage

Contractor:  Lafayette Saunders


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story white colored brick structure. The square shaped building is located on landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Clinton. The building has high white colored Doric columns around each side supporting the overhanging roof. There is a small balcony above the south entrance. On the center of the roof is a white colored octagonal dome with black colored roof. In the interior, wood stairs ascend on the west side to the large vestibule at the courtroom doors. The large Parish Districr Court courtroom is located on the east side of the second story. The building houses the Parish District Court of the 20th Judicial District. In 2011, the building is being renovated. The architect is John Milner Associates of Alexandria, Virginia and the contractor is Cangeiosi Ward Contractors LLC of Baton Rouge. On the west side is the one story red colored brick office.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – East Feliciana Parish Courthouse


Note:  Other old courthouses are located in Claiborne Parish, Lafourche Parish and Saint Martin Parish.


See:  The 20th Judicial District includes West Feliciana Parish.


History:  The parish was created in 1824 and Clinton was selected as the parish seat. The first courthouse was a frame structure built on the Public Square in 1826. The courthouse burned in 1839. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1840 to 1841 at a cost of $23,000.


Old Feliciana Parish Courthouse – Jackson



Location:  1752 High Street / College Street

Built:  1816 – 1817

Style:  Federal

Architect:  James Turner

Contractor:  David Fluker


Description:  The building faces north and is a one story red colored brick and wood structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds on a bluff above the downtown of Jackson. The front has a wide porch with four white colored pillars. The roof is hipped. The building is now a tourist information center.


Note:  The original building was two stories and was reduced to one story after a disastrous fire in 1876. The porch was added in 1963. The building served as the courthouse for the Feliciana Parish until 1824, when the Parish was divided into East Feliciana Parish and West Feliciana Parish. The land was donated by James Ficklin and John Horton in 1815.



Parish Courthouse – Clinton















Old Felicana Parish Courthouse – Jackson











Photos taken 2011, 2017 and 2019