Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Louisiana » Saint Helena Parish

Saint Helena Parish

Saint Helena Parish is named for Saint Helena, who was the consort of Emperor Constantius and the mother of Emperor Constantine I.


Surrounding Parish and County Courthouses: 

N – Amite County, Mississippi

E – Tangipahoa Parish

S – Livingston Parish

W – East Baton Rouge Parish and East Feliciana Parish


Created:  October 27, 1810                    Map of Louisiana highlighting Saint Helena Parish

Parish Seat: 

Greensburg  1810 – present


Parish Courthouse – Greensburg  


Location:  369 Sitman Street / North Main Street

Built:  1936 – 1937

Style:  Moderne

Architect:  Jones, Roesle, Olschner & Wiener

Contractor:  Dyed, Mullins, Inc.


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Greensburg. On the west and east sides there is a central three story tower with the entrance on the first story. Above the entrances are murals. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the Parish District Court courtroom is located the second story.  


History:  The parish was created in 1810 and Montpelier was selected as the parish seat. The first courthouse was built in Montpelier in 1812. In 1832 the parish seat was moved to Greensburg and the courthouse was moved to Greensburg. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1936 to 1937.



Parish Courthouse – Greensburg











Parish District Court courtroom





Old Land Office – Greensburg



Photos taken 2011