Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Louisiana » Cameron Parish

Cameron Parish

Cameron Parish is named for Simon Cameron, who came from Pennsylvania, was the first secretary of war during the tern of President Abraham Lincoln.


Surrounding Parish and County Courthouses: 

N – Calcasieu ParishJefferson Davis Parish and Vermilion Parish

E – Vermilion Parish

S – Gulf of Mexico

W – Jefferson County, Texas and Orange County, Texas


Created:  March 16, 1870                       Map of Louisiana highlighting Cameron Parish

Parish Seat: 

Cameron  1870 – present


Parish Courthouse – Cameron  


Location:  119 Smith Circle / Marshall Street

Built:  1936 – 1937

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Herman J Duncan Company Inc. of Alexandria

Contractor:  A Farnel Blair of Lake Charles


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story white colored concrete and steel structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Cameron. The building has a raised basement. The central part of the building is higher than the east and west wings. The entrance is at the center of the south front. The roof line is flat. The Parish District Court courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the Pariah District Court of the 38th Judicial District. 


History:  The parish was created in 1870 and Cameron was selected as the parish seat. The first courthouse was an existing building in Cameron. The building burned in 1874, and the second courthouse was built. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1936 to 1937



Parish Courthouse – Cameron









Parish District Court courtroom







Parish Administration Building – Cameron



Photos taken 2011