Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Louisiana » Webster Parish

Webster Parish

Webster County is named for Daniel Webster, who was a statesman, senator and the United States Secretary of State.


Surrounding Parish and County Courthouses: 

N – Columbia County, Arkansas

E – Claiborne Parish and Bienville Parish

S – Bienville Parish

W – Bossier Parish


Created:  February 27, 1871                              Location within the U.S. state of Louisiana

County Seat: 

Minden  1871 – present


Parish Courthouse – Minden  


Location:  410 Main Street / Miller Street

Built:  1951 – 1952

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Peyton & Bosworth of Shreveport

Contractor:  Caldwell & McCann of Baton Rouge


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a four story buff colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Minden. The northwest front has a semi-circular portico with columns. Above the entrance are murals. The center section projects from the main building. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the Parish District Court courtroom is located at the nortwest corner of the second story. The building houses the Parish District Court of the 26th Judicial District.  Renovation were done in 1974. The architect was Somdal-Smitherman-Sorensen-Sherman Associates  and the contractor was McInnis Brothers.


See:  The 26th Judicial District includes Bossier Parish.


History:  The parish was created in 1871n was selected as the parish seat. The first courthouse was built by T B Neal in Minden at a cost of $2000. The second courthouse was a two story structure designed by A J Bryan and constructed by M T Lewman & Company in 1905 at a cost of $45,000. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1951 at a cost of $876,000.



Parish Courthouse – Minden



















Parish District Court courtroom















Photos taken 2011 and 2019