Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Arkansas » Columbia County

Columbia County


Columbia County is named for Columbia, which is a female personification of the United States of America.


Surrounding County and Parish Courthouses: 

N – Nevada County and Ouachita County

E – Ouachita County and Union County

S – Claiborne Parish, Louisiana and Webster Parish, Louisiana 

W – Lafayette County


Created:   December 17, 1852               Map of Arkansas highlighting Columbia County

County Seat:

Magnolia  1852 – present


County Courthouse – Magnolia


Location:  101 South Court Square / Main Street

Built:  1905 – 1906

Style:  Renaissance Revival

Architect:  William S Hull

Contractor:  B C Bynum Construction Company and J B Carr & Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Magnolia. The foundation is rusticated stone. The east front has a large portico with three arches on the first story, balcony and six Corinthian columns on the second story with decorative pediment above. There is a wide cornice running below the flat roof line. In the center of the building is a round flat top dome. The interior has a central rotunda and the original wooden stairwell. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 13th Judicial District. 


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Columbia County Courthouse


See:  The 13th Judicial District includes Calhoun County, Cleveland CountyDallas CountyOuachita County and Union County.


History:  The county was created in 1852 and Magnolia was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a temporary log structure built immediately after the county formed in 1852. In 1856, a more permanent courthouse was built. In 1905 the third and present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $58,631.



County Courthouse – Magnolia























Picture 1905 Courthouse





Photos takes 2010 and 2019