Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Arkansas » Calhoun County

Calhoun County

Calhoun County is named for John C Calhoun, who was the seventh Vice President of the United States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Dallas County

E – Cleveland County and Bradley County

S – Union County

W – Ouachita County


Created:  December 6, 1850                  Map of Arkansas highlighting Calhoun County

County Seat:

Hampton 1850 – present


County Courthouse – Hampton


Location:  309 Main Street / South 2nd Street

Built:  1909 – 1910

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Frank W Gibb of Little Rock

Contractor:  Edgar L Koonce


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story buff colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Hampton. On the northeast corner is a five story clock tower with open section on the fifth story and with clock at the roof. On the northwest corner is a smaller three story square tower. The north front has an arched central entrance with an arched window on each side and three large windows on the second story. On the sloped roof is a dormer. In the interior, the first floor, has the original pressed-tin ceilings which tower eighteen feet above the floor. The courtroom on the second story also has the original pressed-tin ceilings and has the only set of wood risers remaining in an Arkansas courthouse, seating viewers on eight levels of bleachers.  The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 13th Judicial District. The stone contractor was Axel Anderson. The only addition, a one-story brick wing, was added in 1969 to house the county jail.


See:  The architect, Frank W Gibb of Little Rock also designed courthouses in Bradley CountyConway CountyDallas County, Franklin CountyPhillips County and Yell County.


See:  Natioonal Register of Historic Places – Calhoun County Courthouse


See:  The 13th Judicial District includes Cleveland CountyColumbia County, Dallas CountyOuachita County and Union County.


History: The county was created in 1850 and Hampton was selected as the county seat. The court met in the home of James Riggs near Hampton in 1851 and the first courthouse was a log structure and jail built in the same year. In 1859, the second courthouse was brick structure was built at a cost of  $4,000. The second courthouse was built on this site and was a two-story building with the first floor was divided up into four large offices for county officials, and the courtroom was on the second floor. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1909 to 1910.



County Courthouse – Hampton

















Photos taken 2011 and 2019