Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Arkansas » Bradley County

Bradley County

Bradley County is named for Hugh Bradley, who was a soldier in the War of 1812.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Cleveland County

E – Drew County and Ashley County

S – Ashley County and Union County

W – Calhoun County


Created:  December 18, 1840                Map of Arkansas highlighting Bradley County

County Seat:

Warren 1840 – present


County Courthouse – Warren


Location:  101 East Cedar Street / Main Street

Built:  1903 – 1904

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect: Frank W Gibb of Little Rock

Contractor:  Edgar L Koonce


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Warren. The southwest corner has a high five story square clock tower with open arched cupola at the top. The southeast corner has a small three story square tower with open arched section on the fourth story. The center section has a central entrance with a white colored column on each side supporting a small balcony on the second story. A balustrade runs along the flat roof line. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 10th Judicial DistrictThe building was renovated in 2002. The architect was Trull-Hollensworth and the contractor was Rankin Construction. On the east side is the old Clerk’s Office built in 1890 and now used as a library.


See:  The architect, Frank W Gibb of Little Rock also designed courthouses in Calhoun CountyConway CountyDallas County, Franklin CountyPhillips County and Yell County.


See:  The 10th Judicial District includes Ashley County, Chicot CountyDesha County and Drew County.


History: The county was created in 1840 and Warren was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure with fireplace at either end built in 1843. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure designed and constructed by Sweeney, Copeland and Pennington in 1862 at a cost of $7,498. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1903 to 1904.



County Courthouse – Warren
























Old Clerk’s Office – Warren





Photos taken 2011 and 2019