Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Arkansas » Chicot County

Chicot County

Chicot County is named for Point Chicot on the Mississippi River, and is thought to have come from the French word “stumpy” for the many cypress trees along the Mississippi River.


Surrounding County and Parish Courthouses: 

N – Desha County

E – Bolivar County, Mississippi, Washington County, Mississippi and Issaquena County, Mississippi

S – East Carroll Parish, Louisiana, West Carroll Parish, Louisiana ansd Morehouse Parish, Louisiana 

W – Ashley County and Drew County


Created:  October 25, 1823                    Map of Arkansas highlighting Chicot County

County Seat:

Villemont       1828 – 1838

Columbia       1838 – 1855

Masona         1855 – 1857

Lake Village   1857 – present


County Courthouse – Lake Village


Location:  108 Main Street / Court Street

Built:  1933 – 1956

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Herbert Voelker

Contractor:  Peterson Garbi & Joseph, Inc


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red-orange colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Lake Village. The south front has a recessed center section with central entrance framed with stone. The windows are vertical with vertical dividers between. The east and west wings are lower than the main building. The roof line is flat. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 10th Judicial District.  


See:  National Register opf Historic Places – Chicot County Courthouse


See:  The 10th Judicial District includes Ashley County, Bradley CountyDesha County and Drew County.


History:  The county was created in 1823 and Villemont was selected as the county seat. In 1838, the county seat was moved to Columbia. The first courthouse was built in i838. Due to flooding, the county seat was moved to Masona in 1855. No county buildings were erected and the county seat was moved to Lake Village in 1857 where the second courthouse, a brick structure was built. The courthouse was demolished when the third courthouse, a neoclassical structure was designed by William Stanton & Son and constructed by Albert G Simms in 1907. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1956.



County Courthouse – Lake Village

















County Circuit Court courtroom





Photos taken 2012 and 2019