Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Washington County

Washington County

Washington County is named for George Washington, who was the first President of the United States from 1789 to 1797.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Bolivar County

E – Sunflower County and Humphreys County

S – Sharkey County and Issaquena County

W – Chicot County, Arkansas


Created:  January 29, 1827                                                        Map of Mississippi highlighting Washington County

County Seat: 

Greenville  1827 – present


County Courthouse – Greenville


Location:  900 Washington Avenue / North Harvey Street

Built:  1891

Style:  Richardsonian Romanesque

Architect:  McDonald Brothers

Contractor:  John F Barnes


Description:  The building faces southwest and  is a three story buff colored stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Greenville. The southwest front has a large square central tower with arched windows and rising to narrow vertical windows on the third story with castle-like battlements around the top. On the fourth story is an octagonal section with flat roof. To the east of the tower is a one story porch with arched center and two flanking arches. The main entrance is recessed within the porch area. Above, the building rises to a peak at the third story. On the west and east corners are low square towers with castle-like battlements around the top. The roof is hipped. The County Circuit Court courtroom occupies the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 4th Judicial District, County Chancery, County Court and County Youth Court. The masonry was completed by Al Thomas. In 1930, the building was rebuilt and restored. The architect was John Manly Spain and the contractor was Lockard & Vaughan. In 1950 to 1952, the northeast Art Deco style addition was constructed. The architect was Spain & Biggers with Harold Kaplan as associate architect, and the contractor was G E Bass & Company.


See:  The 4th Judicial District includes Leflore County and Sunflower County.


History:  The county was created in 1827 and New Mexico was selected as the county seat. The first court met at the home of John DeHart in New Mexico and the first courthouse was built in New Mexico in 1829. The county seat was moved to Princeton in 1836 and the second courthouse was built. In 1844, the county seat was moved to Greenville and the third courthouse, a two story structure, was built at the corner of Nelson Street and Polar Street by N B Johnson and John Wainifold. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1891.



County Courthouse – Greenville















County Circuit Court courtroom







County Courthouse Addition – Greenville









Photos taken 2012 and 2019