Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Sunflower County

Sunflower County

Sunflower County is named for the Sunflower River which is a tributary of the Yazoo River and is named after the sunflower plant.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Coahoma County

E – Tallahatchie County and Leflore County

S – Humphreys County

W –  Washington County and Bolivar County


Created:  February 15, 1844                                                      Map of Mississippi highlighting Sunflower County

County Seat: 

Indianola  1844 – present


County Courthouse – Indianola 


Location:  200 Main Street / Church Street

Built:  1965 – 1966

Style:  Modern Classical Revival

Architect:  Thomas H Johnson Jr. & Associates

Contractor:  Ralph C Hewlett Construction Company.


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Indianola. The north front has a large portico with four columns rising to a wide pediment at the roof line. There is a balcony on the second story. The south side has a similar portico. The roof line is flat.


See:  The 4th Judicial District includes Leflore County and Washington County.


History:  The county was created in 1844 and Clayton was selected as the county seat. The county seat was moved to McNutt in 1834 (now in Leflore County). In 1871, the county seat was moved to Johnsonville. The county seat was moved in 1882 to Indianola (Eureka). The previous courthouse was designed by Andrew J Bryan and constructed by J J Harly in 1898. An addition was added in 1927. The present courthouse was constructed in 1965 to 1966.



County Courthouse – Indianola









Photos taken 2012