Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Arkansas » Lee County

Lee County

Lee County is named for Robert E Lee, who was a Confederate general in the Civil War, and who lived from 1807 to 1870.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Saint Francis County

E – Crittenden County and Tunica County, Mississippi

S – Phillips County

W – Monroe County


Created:  April 17, 1873                          Map of Arkansas highlighting Lee County

County Seat:

Marianna  1873 – present


County Courthouse – Marianna 


Location:  15 East Chestnut Street / Court Street

Built:  1936 – 1937

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  George Mahan Jr. and Everett Wood

Contractor:  Jennings & Samuel


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story gray colored stone’ buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building sits on a rise overlooking the Public Square to the south in the center of Marianna. The south front has a projecting center section with three rectangular openings on the first story with recessed entrances. On the second story is a porch with two columns rising to a wide header. The first story is faced with gray colored stone and the upper section of the building is buff colored brick. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the second story. This is a Works Progress Administration project. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 1st Judicial District and the County District Court. On the north side is a modern addition built with dark red colored brick, concrete and glass.


See:  The 1st Judicial District includes Cross County, Monroe County, Phillips CountySaint Francis County and Woodruff County.


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Marianna was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure built at Poplar Street and Mississippi Street in 1873. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by Martin & Chamberlin and constructed in 1889 to 1890. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1936 to 1937.



County Courthouse – Marianna







County Circuit Court courtroom





Photos taken 2012