Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Louisiana » Union Parish

Union Parish

Union Parish is named for the union of the United States.


Surrounding Parish and County Courthouses: 

N – Union County, Arkansas

E  – Morehouse Parish

S – Ouachita Parish and Lincoln Parish

W – Claiborne Parish


Created:  March 13, 1839                                   Location within the U.S. state of Louisiana

County Seat: 

Farmerville  1839 – present


Parish Courthouse – Farmerville  


Location:  100 East Bayou Street / North Main Street

Built:  1960 – 1961

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Neild-Sondal-Smitherman-Associates

Contractor:  Ranni Terral


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Farmerville. The north front has a central entrance with large crest above on the second story. The first story is dark red colored brick and the second story is light colored panels. There are white colored vertical concrete dividers with horizontal windows. The roof line is flat. In the intrior, the Pasrish District Court courtrooom is located on the second story. The building was renovated in 1983. The architect was James W Higgins and the contractor was Don Barbon.


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Lincoln Parish.


History:  The parish was created in 1839 and Farmerville was selected as the parish seat. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1842 in Farmerville. The second courthouse was built in 1879. The third courthouse was a Victorian style building designed by A J Bryan & Company and constructed by M T Lewman Company in 1904. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1960 to 1961.



Parish Courthouse – Farmerville























Picture 1904 Parish Courthouse

Photos taken 2011 and 2019