Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Minnesota » Clearwater County

Clearwater County

Clearwater County is named after the Clearwater River and Clearwater Lake and in Ojibway the translation is “Ga-wakomitigweia”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Beltrami County 

E – Beltrami County and Hubbard County

S – Becker County

W – Mahnomen County, Polk County and Pennington County


Created:  December 20, 1902                Map of Minnesota highlighting Clearwater County

County Seat:

Bagley  1902 – present


County Courthouse – Bagley


Location:  213   Main Avenue North / 1st Street NW

Built:  1937 – 1938

Style:  Moderne

Architect:  Foss and Company of Fargo, North Dakota

Contractor:  A Hedenberg & Company of Duluth


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure with square lines. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Bagley. The building is 60 feet by 100 feet and the entrance is defined by large glass windows and sidelights that rise two stories. The original face brick was motored over to give the building a smooth surface. Symmetrically arranged windows and a central doorway are trimmed in green color. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the building has plastered walls while the County District Court courtroom located on the second story is finished in mahogany veneer. On the north side is a large meting room. The building houses the County District Court of the 9th Judicial District. The building was renovated in 1986. The architect was Thomas C Jones of Clearbrook and the contractor was Watson Brothers of Grand Rapids. An addition was constructed in 1998. The architect was Richard Rude and the contractor was Gordon Construction.


See:  The architect Foss Associates Architects also designed courthouses in Becker CountyClay County and Pennington County and in North Dakota in Billings CountyCavalier CountyMorton County and Ramsey County.


See:  The 9th Judicial District includes Aitkin County, Beltrami County, Cass County, Crow Wing CountyHubbard CountyItasca CountyKittson CountyKoochiching CountyLake of the Woods CountyMahnomen County, Marshall CountyNorman CountyPennington CountyPolk County, Red Lake County and Roseau County.


History:  The county was created in 1902 and Bagley was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1903 on the present site. An addition was built in 1916. The architect was R F Broomhall. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1937 to 1938.




County Courthouse – Bagley





















Meeting Room





County District Court courtroom















Photos taken 2007 and 2019