Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Dakota » Cavalier County

Cavalier County


Cavalier County is named for Charles Cavaleer of  Pembina ( 1818-1902 ) who was one of the earliest white settlers.


Surrounding County and Canada Courthouses: 

N – Manitoba, Canada

E – Pembina County

S – Walsh County and Ramsey County

W – Towner County


Created:  January 4, 1873                      Map of North Dakota highlighting Cavalier County

County Seat: 

Langdon  1884 – present


County Courthouse – Langdon


Location:  901 3rd Street / 9th Avenue

Built:  1957 – 1958

Style:  Modern

Architect:    Foss and Company

Contractor:  The John Larsen Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a one story red colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Langdon. The entrance is located at the south end of west front. The east part of the building is higher in the center section and is faced with polished white colored concrete and green colored concrete on the south side. The roof line is flat. The County District Court courtroom is located along the south side of the building. The building houses the County District Court of the Northeast Judicial District.


See:  The architect Foss Associates Architects also designed courthouses in Billings County, Morton County and Ramsey Countyand in Minnesota in Becker CountyClay CountyClearwater County and Pennington County.


See:  The Norrheast Judicial District includes Benson CountyBottineau County, McHenry County, Pembina County. Pierce County, Ramsey County, Renville County, Rolette CountyTowner County and Walsh County


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Langdon was selected as the county seat in 1884 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was built in 1884 at a cost of $360. The second courthouse was a bank in the downtown area. The third courthouse was designed by J W Ross and built in Langdon in 1895 at a cost of $9,099. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1n 1957 to 1958.



County Courthouse – Langdon













County District Court courtroom









Photos taken 2007, 2011 and 2015