Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Minnesota » Pennington County

Pennington County

Pennington County is named after Edmund Pennington, who was a railroad operator.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Marshall County

E – Beltrami County and Clearwater County

S – Polk County and Red Lake County 

W – Polk County


Created:  November 23, 1910                Map of Minnesota highlighting Pennington County

County Seat:

Thief River Falls  1910 – present


County Courthouse – Thief River Falls


Location:  101 North Main Avenue / 1st Street West

Built:  1954 – 1955

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Foss & Company of Fargo

Contractor:  Nasvik Construction Company Inc.


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story rectangular buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is 64 feet by 145 feet. Windows are set in three horizontal bands across the east front with green panels above and below. A cast stone molding frames the two upper stories, excluding the two end bays of tan colored brick. A three-story strip of glass brick interrupts the solid brick of the north and south ends. Two black colored marble rectangles support a cantilevered concrete canopy over the centered east entrance. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the former County District Court courtroom is located at the center of the second story.


See:  The architect Foss Associates Architects also designed courthouses in Clearwater Countyand in North Dakota in Billings CountyCavalier CountyMorton County and Ramsey County.


County Justice Center – Thief River Falls



Location:  141 South Main Avenue  / 1st Street West

Built:  2017 – 2018

Style:  Modern

Architect:  BKV Group of Minneapolis

Contractor:  Contegrity Group Construction Management of Little Falls


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red brick, gray colored concrete and glass structure. The building is located in the center of the city to the south of the courthouse. The building was constructed as a southern addition to the Sheriff’s Building. The east front has a recessed glass entrance with large recessed window on the second story. The roof line is flat.  In the interior, the two dark wood paneled County District Court courtrooms are located on the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 9th Judicial District. 


See:  The 9th Judicial District includes Aitkin County, Beltrami County, Cass County, Clearwater CountyCrow Wing CountyHubbard CountyItasca CountyKittson CountyKoochiching CountyLake of the Woods CountyMahnomen County, Marshall CountyNorman CountyPolk County, Red Lake County and Roseau County.


History:  The county was created in 1910 and Thief River Falls was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was two remodeled city buildings which had separate doorways and different windows. The cost of remodeling was $6,150. The second courthouse was constructed in 1953 to 1954. The third and present courthouse ( Justice Center ) was constructed in 2017 to 2018.


County Courthouse – Thief River Falls













Former County District Court courtroom











County Justice Center – Thief River Falls















County District Court courtroom











Photos taken 2007, 2008, 2017 and 2019