Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Minnesota » Saint Louis County

Saint Louis County

Saint Louis County is named after the Saint Louis River and the river was probably named by Pierre Gaultier de Varennes in 1731 in honor of the King of France.


Surrounding County and Canada Courthouses: 

N – Ontario, Canada

E – Lake County, Lake Superior and Douglas County, Wisconsin

S – Douglas County, Wisconsin and Carlton County

W – Aitkin CountyItasca County and Koochiching County


Created:  February 20, 1855                  Map of Minnesota highlighting St. Louis County

County Seat:

Duluth  1862 – present


County Courthouse – Duluth


Location:  100 N 5th Avenue West / West First Street

Built:  1909 – 1910

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Daniel H Burnham and J J Wangenstein of Duluth

Contractor:  Lanquist and Illsley Company of Chicago, Illinois.


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a five story gray colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Duluth.  The building is the center of the Government Complex with the City Hall on the east and Federal Building and County Jail on the west. The ground floor is built of strongly coursed stone with a mezzanine above and Ionic columns rising three stories to a heavy entablature on which is inscribed “The Peoples Laws Define Usage, Ordain Rights and Duties, Secure Public Safety, Defend Liberty, Teach Reverence and Obedience, and Establish Justice”. On the south front is a mall with a fountain and the Soldiers and Sailors Monument. The interior is noted for its exceptional marble and granite floors, and oak woodwork. The first floor contains the lobby while courtrooms and county offices are housed in the remainder of the five story building. The building houses nine courtrooms located on the 3rd and 4th stories. The building houses the County District Court of the 6th Judicial District. 


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Duluth Civic Center Historic District


See:  The 6th Judicial District includes Carlton County, Cook County and Lake County.


History:  The county was created in 1855. Duluth was became the county seat in 1862. The first courthouse in 1862 was rented premises. The second courthouse was built in 1884. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1909 to 1910 at a cost of $999,500.


Note:  The lowest point in Minnesota is Lake Superior at 602 feet ( 183 meters ) which is located in the county


Other Branch Courthouses


Hibbing and Virginia



County Courthouse – Duluth































County District Court courtroom











County District Court courtroom











Photos taken 2006, 2007, 2025 and 2022