Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Minnesota » Wright County

Wright County

Wright County is named after Silas Wright, a New  York salesman whose name was proposed as the county name.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Stearns County and Sherburne County

E – Henepin County 

S – Carver County and McLeod County

W – Meeker County


Created:  February 20, 1855                  Map of Minnesota highlighting Wright County

County Seat:

Monticello  1856 – 1867

Buffalo       1867 – present


County Courthouse – Buffalo


Location:  10 2nd Street SW / Central Avenue

Built:  1959 – 1960

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Patch and Erickson of Minneapolis

Contractor:  George Madsen Construction Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story concrete, glass and steel structure. The building is located on sloped landscaped grounds in the center of Buffalo and has a low flat curtain wall of steel and glass on a stone veneered foundation. The entrance has four square columns with a recessed portico. In 1971 an addition was built and in 1974, a second addition was added. In 1980, a four story, brown steel paneled rectangular block was built. The architect was Birkeland Architects. In 1990, the building was remodeled joining the separate sections. The architect was BWBR Architects of Saint Paul and the contractor was Construction Analysis and Management of Fridley.


County Justice Center – Buffalo



Location:  3700 Braddock Avenue NE / Highway 35

Built:  2018 – 2020

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Boarman Kroos Vogel Group

Contractor:  Contegrity Group of Little Falls


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a four story concrete, glass and steel structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the north part of the city. The building is rectangular with vertical windows separated by vertical concrete dividers. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the building ihas nine courtrooms. The building houses the County District Court of the 10th Judicial District.


See:  The 10th Judicial District includes Anoka County, Chisago CountyIsanti CountyKanabec CountyWashington County


History:  The county was created in 1855 and Monticello was selected as the county seat in 1856. The first court house was a building built as the Monticello Academy in Monticello and rented for county use. The county seat moved to Buffalo in 1867 and the second courthouse was a two story frame structure called “Samsel House”. The third courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by Bisbee Bardwell of Minneapolis and constructed by J V Daniel in 1878 at a cost of $27,634. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1959 to 1960 at a cost of $655,000. The County Justice Center was constructed in 2018 to 2020.



County Courthouse – Buffalo



























Commissioner’s Meeting Room








County Justice Center – Buffalo



Photos taken 2007, 2017, 2019 and 2023