Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Minnesota » Chisago County

Chisago County

Chisago County is named after the county’s largest lake, Ki-chi-sago meaning “large” and “lovely” in Ojibway. The county name was to be “Chisaga” but due to an error, it became “Chisago”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Pine County

E – Burnett County, Wisconsin and Polk County, Wisconsin 

S – Washington County and Anoka County

W – Isanti County


Created:  September 1, 1851                 Map of Minnesota highlighting Chisago County

County Seat:

Taylor Falls   1851 – 1865

Chiago City  1865 – 1876

Center City   1876 – present


County Courthouse – Center City


Location:  313   North Main Street / 2nd Street

Built:  1973 – 1974

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Freeks, Sperl, Flynn

Contractor:  D J Kranz.


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a two story cream colored concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Center City. The building is named as the Chisago County Government Center. The building has the main entrance at the junction of the southwest and northwest wings. There are few windows in the building and the roof line is flat. In the interior there are three County District Court courtrooms located along the southwest side of the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 10th Judicial District. The building was enlarged and renovated in 1989 to 1990. The architect was Klein McCarthy and Company Ltd. of Minneapolis and the contractor was Knudson Construction Company.


Old County Courthouse – Palmdale



Location:  Almelund Threshing Bee Fairgrounds

Built:  1875 – 1876

Style:  Federal

Architect:  John L Bullard

Contractor:  John L Bullard


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story white colored wood structure. The building was moved from the original site in Center City to the grounds of the Almelund Threshing Bee next to the Clover Blossom School. The west front has a projecting center section with entrance on the first story and double vertical windows on the second story. The windows are arched. The roof is hipped. The building served as the courthouse until 1990.


See:  The 10th Judicial District includes Anoka County, Isanti CountyKanabec CountyPine CountySherburne County, Washington County and Wright County.


History:  The county was created in 1851 and Taylor Falls was selected as the county seat. The first meeting of the County Commissioners in 1852 was held at the residence of Samuel Thompson. The first courthouse erected was a wood frame structure. The county seat was moved to Chisago City in 1865 and the courthouse building was moved to the new location. The county seat was moved to Center City in 1876 and the second courthouse was a wood frame structure built by John Bullard in 1875 to 1876. The building was moved to Palmdale in 1990. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1973 to 1974.



County Courthouse – Center City























County District Court courtroom















Old County Courthouse – Palmdale















Pictures taken 2007, 2008, 2010, 2015 and 2022