Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Minnesota » Isanti County

Isanti County

Isanti County is the name of the Izanty Indians, the ancient name of the Santee Indians, members of the Dakota alliance.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Kanabec County

E – Chisago County

S – Anoka County

W – Sherburne County and Mille Lacs County


Created:   February 13, 1857                 Map of Minnesota highlighting Isanti County

County Seat:

Cambridge 1854 – present


County Courthouse – Cambridge


Location:   555 18th Avenue SW / Dellwood Street South

Built:  1993 – 1995

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Buetow and Associates, Inc.

Contractor:  Lovering Johnson Inc.


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds to the south of the center of Cambridge. On the north front is a large yellowish colored stone clad portico with dark glass windows. On the east section are long vertical windows and on the west section are small rectangular windows. The roof line is flat. In the interior there is an entrance lobby and stairs ascending to the second story. The three County District Court courtrooms are located along the south side of the second story of the east wing.  The building houses the County District Court of the 10th Judicial District.


Old County Courthouse – Cambridge 



Location:  237 2nd Avenue SW / Birch Street

Built:  1887 – 1888

Style:  French Second Empire and Italianate

Architect:  P J Lind

Contractor:  P J Lind


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and wood structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Cambridge. The north front has a square brick tower with buff stone frame at the entrance and steep gray colored slate mansard roof. The structure is basically rectangular with a projecting entrance pavilion. A small triangular dormer is located on each of the exposed sides of the pavilion roof. There is a brick belt between the first and second stories. The basement was remodeled in 1996. The building now houses commercial offices.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Old Isanti County Courthouse


See:  The 10th Judicial District includes Anoka County, Chisago CountyKanabec CountyPine CountySherburne County, Washington County and Wright County.                 


History:  The county was created in 1857 and Cambridge was selected as the county seat. The county officers met at different homes until the first courthouse was erected in Cambridge in 1871. The second courthouse was constructed in 1887 to 1888 at a cost of $6,993 and is still standing. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1993 to 1995.



County Courthouse – Cambridge























County District Court courtroom















Old County Courthouse – Cambridge













Photos taken 2007, 2010, 2019 and 2022