Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Minnesota » Lincoln County

Lincoln County

Lincoln County is named for Abraham Lincoln, who was a member of Congress from Illinois from 1847 to 1849 and President of the United States from 1861 to 1865.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Yellow Medicine County

E – Lyon County

S – Pipestone County

W – Brookings County, South Dakota and Deuel County, South Dakota 


Created:  March 6, 1873                         Map of Minnesota highlighting Lincoln County

County Seat:

Marshfield      1873 – 1883

Lake Benton   1883 – 1901

Ivanhoe          1901 – 1903

Lake Benton   1903 – 1904

Ivanhoe          1904 – present


County Courthouse – Ivanhoe


Location:  319   North Rebecca Street / West Saxon Street

Built:  1918 – 1919

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  C Howard Parson of Minneapolis

Contractor:  Madsen and Peterson of Minneapolis.


Description:  The building faces faces east and is a three story gray colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds on the west side of the center of Ivanhoe. The building is constructed of smooth bluff Kasota limestone and Kettle River sandstone. A projecting central pavilion on the east front is centered by a high portico with smooth Ionic columns that reach two stories to a pediment on which a stone eagle rests. The first story is sandstone coursed in horizontal bands to form a base form the levels above, which are divided into bays by shallow pilasters. A wide frieze is topped by a cornice and stone parapet. The interior has marble finishing. There are the original lighting fixtures and the stenciling in the County District Court courtroom on the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 5th Judicial District.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Lincoln County Courthouse


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Blue Earth County, Brown County, Cottonwood CountyFaribault County, Jackson County, Lyon CountyMartin County, Murray CountyNicolett CountyNobles CountyPipestone County, Redwood CountyRock County and Watonwan County.


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Marshfield was selected as the county seat. The first court was held in a store building in Marshfield in 1873. The county seat was moved to Lake Benton in 1883 and s building was rented from the Chicago Northwestern Railroad as the first courthouse in 1887. In 1901 the county seat was moved to Ivanhoe and the second courthouse was the Wilson Opera House. In 1903, the county seat was moved back to Lake Benton and ten returned to Ivanhoe in 1904. The third courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by A J Van Duesen of Winona and built by Bartleson and Kringler of Lake Miller, Iowa, at a cost of $11,695 originally as a jail in 1904. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1918 to 1919 at a cost of $200,000.



County Courthouse – Ivanhoe





















County District Court courtroom







Commissioner’s Meeting Room

Photos taken 2007, 2017 and 2024