Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Minnesota » Ramsey County

Ramsey County

Ramsey County is named after Alexander Ramsey, who was the first Governor of the Minnesota Territory in 1849.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Anoka County

E – Washington County

S – Dakota County

W – Hennepin County and Anoka County


Created:  October 27, 1849                    Map of Minnesota highlighting Ramsey County

County Seat:

Saint Paul  1849 – present


County Courthouse – Saint Paul


Location:  15  Kellogg Boulevard West / Wabasha Street

Built:  1930 – 1932

Style:  Art Deco “Skyscraper Style”

Architect:  Thomas Ellerbe & Company of Saint Paul and Holabird & Root of Chicago, Illinois

Contractor:  Foley Brothers


Description:  The building faces south and is an eighteen story structure. The building is located in the center of Saint Paul. Each of the eighteen floors is finished in a different wood from around the world, and features 23 kinds of wood from 18 counties and marbles from all over the world. Paintings in the Council Chamber depict pioneer days and modern Saint Paul. A 36 foot high onyx statue the “Indian God of Peace” dominates the marble concourse. The building also houses the Saint Paul City Hall. To the east is the County Government Center East..



See:  National Register of Historic Places – Ramsay County Courthouse / City Hall


History:  The county was created in 1849 and Saint Paul was designated as the county seat. The first courthouse was a small two story brick Greek Revival structure designed by Dr. David Gray and built at a cost of $9,000. The second courthouse was a Kasota stone structure designed by Edward P Bassford and built in 1885 at a cost of $600,000. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1930 to 1932 at a cost of $4,000,000.


See:  The Minnesota Supreme Court is located in the county.



County Courthouse – Saint Paul









County Government Center East – Saint Paul



Former County Administration ( 50 West Kellogg Street – demolished ) – Saint Paul



Photos taken 1997 and 2010