Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Montana » Roosevelt County

Roosevelt County

Roosevelt County is named for Theodore Roosevelt, who was the twenty-sixth President of the United States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Daniels County and Sheridan County

E – Williams CountyNorth Dakota

S – Richland County and McCone County

W – Valley County


Created:  February 18, 1919                  Map of Montana highlighting Roosevelt County

County Seat: 

Wolf Point  1919 – present


County Courthouse – Wolf Point 


Location:  400 2nd Avenue South / Custer Street

Built:  1939 – 1940

Style:  Moderne

Architect:  Edwin G Oness of Billings

Contractor:  Local trades under the Public Works Administration ( PWA )


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Wolf Point. The building has a raised basement and the building is tiered with the front center section extending from the main building. The entrance to the second story is recessed with three arched windows above between the second and third stories. There are north and south two story wings. A brown colored horizontal band runs along the flat roof line. In the interior is a staircase which ascends to the three large windows on west side. The County District Court courtroom is located along the east side of the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 15th Judicial District and County Justice Court. The Commissioner’s Room is on the second story. 


Note:  During the construction of the courthouse, Farmers Lumber Corporation supplied lumber, George E Butzlaff was the blacksmith and Ceco Steel Product Company supplied the steel.


See:  The 15th Judicial District includes Daniels County, Roosevelt County and Sheridan County.


County Detention Center (Justice Court) – Wolf Point 



Location:  416 2nd Avenue South / Dawson Street

Built:  2016 – 2017

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Stevens Design Inc. and Reilly Johnson Architecture

Contractor:  Sletton Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a one story glass, steel and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Wolf Point to the southeast of the courthouse. The building houses the County Justice Court courtroom on the north side. 


History:  The county was created in 1919 and Wolf Point was selected as the county seat. The county probably rented office premises until the first and present courthouse was constructed in 1939 to 1940. The Detention Center was constructed in 2016 to 2017.



County Courthouse – Wolf Point

















County District Court courtroom













Clifton Ray Cheek painting





Commissioners Room



Picture 1940 County Courthouse







County Detention Center (Justice Court) – Wolf Point





County Justice Court courtroom







Photos 2009, 2012, 2016 and 2022