Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Montana » Golden Valley County

Golden Valley County

Golden Valley County is named by the land promoters in a promotional attempt to lure settlers to the area.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Fergus County

E – Musselshell County    

S – Yellowstone CountyStillwater County and Sweet Grass County

W – Sweet Grass County and Wheatland County


Created:  October 4, 1920                      Map of Montana highlighting Golden Valley County

County Seat: 

Ryegate  1920 – present


County Courthouse –  Ryegate 


Location:  107 Kemp Street / 2nd Avenue

Built:  1920 – 1921

Style:  Federal

Architect:  John H Grant

Contractor:  John H Grant


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick, stucco and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Ryegate. The building is a rectangular shape and the entrance is located at the center of the east front. The windows are small and the roof line is flat. The building was constructed as a temporary structure but has remained as the courthouse. The building houses the County District Court of the 14th Judicial District and County Justice Court.


See:  The 14th Judicial District includes Golden Valley County, Meagher County, Musselshell County and Wheatland County.


History:  The county was created in 1920 and Ryegate was selected as the county seat. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1920 to 1921.



County Courthouse – Ryegate  



Photo taken 2011