Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Montana » Fergus County

Fergus County

Fergus County is named for James Fergus, the father of Andrew Fergus, who was one of the first settlers in the area.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Choteau CountyBlaine County and Phillips County

E – Petroleum County

S – Musselshell CountyGolden Valley County and Wheatland County

W – Judith Basin County and Choteau County


Created:  March 12, 1885                       Map of Montana highlighting Fergus County

County Seat: 

Lewistown  1886 – present


County Courthouse – Lewistown


Location:  721 West Main Street / 7th Avenue South

Built:  1908 – 1909

Style:  Spanish Colonial

Architect:  Newton C Gauntt of North Yakima, Washington

Contractor:  William Oliver of Spokane, Washington


Description:  The building face southeast and is a three story pink and brown colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Lewiston. The building has two large columns supporting a header with balustrade in the central front. On the center of the roof is an octagonal cupola with clock and gold colored dome containing a clock. The base of the building is dark brown colored brick. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 10th Judicial District and County Justice Court. On the northwest is the jail.


See:  The 10th Judicial District includes Fergus County. Judith Basin County and Petroleum County.


History:  The county was created in 1885 and Lewistown was selected as the county seat in 1886. The first court met at the small jail on the south bank of Spring Creek. The Bank of Fergus County building was erected in 1890 and the county occupied the upper story. The first courthouse was a brick structure built in 1888. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1908 to 1909.



County Courthouse – Lewistown









Clockworks in cupola





County District Court courtroom







Old Stone County Jail – Lewistown





Photos taken 2006 and 2011