Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Montana » Petroleum County

Petroleum County

Petroleum County is named for the petroleum produced at Cat Creek.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Fergus County and Phillips County

E – Garfield County and Rosebud County

S – Musselshell County

W – Fergus County


Created:  November 24, 1924                Map of Montana highlighting Petroleum County

County Seat: 

Winnett  1926 – present


County Courthouse – Winnett 


Location:  302 East Main Street / Ashley Avenue

Built:  1916 – 1918

Style:  Federal

Architect:   Walter Winnett of Winnett

Contractor:   Walter Winnett of Winnett


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored stone structure. The building is located in the center of Winnett. The south front has a horizontal white band dividing the first and second stories. There are white colored sections along the first story. The roof line is flat. The courtroom is located at the center of the first story. The building houses the County District Court of the 10th Judicial District and County Justice Court.


Note:  This structure was originally built as the Winnett Block storefront. The left side was the Montana Lumber Company, the middle portion was the Winnett Times, and the right side was the First State Bank of Winnett. The second floor was used as office space, and the basement was initially used as a restaurant. The County leased the building in 1929 and purchased the building in 1929.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Petroleum County Courthouse


See:  The 10th Judicial District includes Fergus CountyJudith Basin County and Petroleun County.


History:  The county was created in 1924 and Winnett was selected as the county seat. The first and present courthouse was built in 1916 to 1918.



County Courthouse – Winnett







County District Court courtroom



Photos taken 2011