Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Montana » Prairie County

Prairie County

Prairie County is named for the prairie land of the Great Plains within the county.    


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – McCone County and Dawson County

E – Dawson County and Wibaux County

S – Fallon County and Custer County

W – Garfield County 


Created:  February 5, 1915                    Map of Montana highlighting Prairie County

County Seat: 

Terry  1915 – present


County Courthouse – Terry 


Location:  217 West Park Street / Logan Avenue

Built:  1997 – 1998

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Stevenson Design of Miles City

Contractor:  Fire Mountain Construction of Colstrip


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story gray metal clad structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Terry. The south front has a central entrance with small windows towards the east side. The roof is pitched. The building has a flat roof. In the interior, the courtroom is located on the east side of the entrance along the south side. The building contains the County District Court of the 7th Judicial District and the County Justice Court. 


Note:  The present courthouse was located on the site of the Legion which had been destroyed by fire. In 1995, the courthouse on Garfield Avenue was set on fire and the building was damaged and the present courthouse was then construted.


Old County Courthouse – Terry 



Location:  206 Garfield Avenue / Spring Street

Built:  1915

Style:  Federal

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces wet and s a one and a half story white colored wood frame  structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Terry to the northwest of the courthouse. The front section projects from the main building and has a central entrance. The roof is hipped. The building was damaged by fire on August 25, 1995.


See:  The 7th Judicial District includes Dawson CountyMcCone County, Prairie County, Richland County and Wibaux County.


History:  The county was created in 1915 and Terry was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a one story frame structure built in 1915. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1997 to 1998.



County Courthouse – Terry







County District Court courtroom







Old County Courthouse – Terry







Photos taken 2009 and 2022