Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Carolina » Hampton County

Hampton County

Hampton County is named for Wade Hampton II, who was a Governor of South Carolina.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Allendale County and Bamberg County

E – Colleton County and Beaufort County

S – Jasper County

W – Effingtham County, Georgia and Screven County, Georgia 


Created:  February 18, 1878                  Map of South Carolina highlighting Hampton County

County Seat: 

Varnville     1878

Hampton    1878 – present


County Courthouse – Hampton


Location:  201 Jackson Avenue West / South Savannah Highway

Built:  1878 – 1879

Style:  Victorian and Italianate

Architect:  Hoover, Mauldin and Browning families

Contractor:  Hoover, Mauldin and Browning families


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and limestone structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Hampton. The building has square stone pillars rising to a header on the first story with a recessed entrance. There is a large stone trimmed arch on the second story with recessed door. The second story windows are arched. Additions have been added on the north side. In the interior, the County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County Family Court and County Probate Court of the 14th Judicial Circuit.  An addition was added in 1925. The architect was Lafaye & Lafaye and the contractor was P N Auger. The building was renovated in 2006 to 2008. The architect was Moseley Architects Inc. of Charlotte, North Carolina and the contractor was Brunson Construction Company, Inc of Hampton.


Note:  The location of the present Town of Hampton was the product of the Hoover, Mauldin and Browning families’ generous contributions of nine acres, lumber and materials for the construction of a courthouse square and a wind mill powered water well. The design was influenced by Robert Mills who was an architect in Charleston and who designed courthouses in Colleton CountyHorry County, Lancaster County, Marion County and Williamsburg County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Hampton County Courthouse


See:  The 14th Judicial Circuit includes Allendale CountyBeaufort CountyColleton County and Jasper County.


History:  The county was created in 1878 and Varnville was selected as the county seat. In the same year, the county seat was moved to Hampton. The courthouse is the first and only courthouse erected in the county in 1878 to 1879.



County Courthouse – Hampton















County Courthouse Annex 2008 – Hampton







Picture 1878 County Courthouse



Picture County Courthouse after 1925



County Courthouse construction 2008





Photos taken 2008, 2014, 2020 and 2024