Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Carolina » Spartanburg County

Spartanburg County

Spartanburg County is named for the Spartan Regiment of the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Polk County, North Carolina and Rutherford County, North Carolina 

E – Cherokee County and Union County 

S – Laurens County

W – Greenville County


Created:  March 2, 1785                         Map of South Carolina highlighting Spartanburg County

County Seat: 

Spartanburg  1785 – present


County Courthouse – Spartanburg 


Location:  180 Magnolia Street / West St. John Street

Built:  1956 – 1957

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Harold Woodward

Contractor:  West Building Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story gray colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Spartanburg.  The building has the entrance located in the north section on the east side. The entrance is recessed glass panels with two thin pillars supporting the overhang. The middle and south sections have a row of horizontal windows on each story. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County Family Court, County Probate Court and County Magistrate Court of the 7th Judicial Circuit. .


New County Courthouse – Spartanburg 


Location:  Magnolia Street / West Liberty Street

Built:  2021 – 2023

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Stevens & Wilson opf Atlanta Georgia and McMillan Pazdan Smith Architecture

Contractor:  Turner Construction Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a six story concrete and glassstructure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Spartanburg on the north side of the old courthouse. The east front has a projecting center two story section with columns.  On the north and south sides are two story wings. The roof on the center section is hipped. The building has 16 courtrooms. 


See:  The 7th Judicial Circuit includes Cherokee County.


History:  The county was created in 1785 and Spartanburg was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in Spartanburg in 1789. The second and third courthouses were built on the square. The fourth courthouse was designed by Godfrey Norman and Kenneth McDonald and constructed in 1891 to 1892. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 1956 to 1957. The sixth and present courthouse was constructed in 2021 to 2023 at a cost of $152,000,000.



County Courthouse – Spartanburg





Photos taken 2008