Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Carolina » Polk County

Polk County

Polk County is named for William Polk, who was an officer in the American Revolutionary War and the first president of the State Bank of North Carolina.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Rutherford County

E – Rutherford County

S – Spartanburg County, South Carolina and Greenville County, South Carolina

W – Henderson County


Created:  January 20, 1855                    Map of North Carolina highlighting Polk County

County Seat: 

Columbus  1855 – present


County Courthouse – Columbus 


Location:  1 Courthouse Square / East Mills Street

Built:  1858 – 1859

Style:  Greek Revival / Italianate

Architect:  Ephraim Clayton

Contractor:  George W Shackelton


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Columbus. The building is “T” shaped and has a portico on the southwest front supported by four large square white colored pillars rising to a pediment at the roof line. There is an extension on the east side. On the center of the roof is a square white base rising to a smaller square white colored cupola. In the interior, there is a large entry hall with center hall running to the rear of the building. On the north and south sides of the front door are marching spiral stairs with large turned newels, molded handrails and slender balusters. On the second story is a large courtroom on the east side. The building houses the County Superior Court and County District Court of the 29th Judicial District. The building was remodeled in the 1920’s and was remodeled from 1999 to 2008. On the southwest side is the Justice and Administration Building.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Polk County Courthouse


County Justice and Administration Building – Columbus 



Location:  40 Courthouse Square / East Mills Street

Built:  1987 – 1988

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Carter Watkins Associates Architects Inc. of Monroe, Georgia

Contractor:  Sherman Construction Company Inc. of Greenville, South Carolina


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Columbus on the southwest side of the courthouse.. The building has a recessed central entrance. The roof has a peak on the north and south sections. 


See:  The 29th Judicial District includes Henderson County, McDowell County, Rutherford County and Transylvania County.


History:  The first courts were held in private homes. The first courthouse was a temporary building erected by E L Foster in 1855 in Columbus at a cost of $190.  The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1858 to 1859 at a cost of $16,836 including the jail. The Justice and Administration Building was constructed in 1987 to 1988.



County Courthouse – Columbus





County Justice and Administration Building – Columbus





Photos taken 2008