Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Carolina » Greenwood County

Greenwood County

Greenwood County is named for the Greenwood plantation which plantation belonged to Judge John McGehee.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Abbeville CountyLaurens County and Newberry County

E – Saluda County

S – Edgefield County and McCormick County

W – McCormick County and Abbeville County


Created:  March 2, 1897                         Map of South Carolina highlighting Greenwood County

County Seat: 

Greenwood  1897 – present


County Courthouse – Greenwood 


Location:  528 Monument Street / Park Avenue

Built:  1966 – 1967

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Coleman & Townes

Contractor:  C Y Thomson Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story dark brown-red colored brick and concrete structure. The building has the front extending from the main building. The first story is recessed and having glass entrances. Above, vertical brick dividers separate the white panels with narrow vertical windows above. A wide white concrete band runs along the flat roof line. Atop the roof is a gold colored raised section. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 8th Judicial Circuit.


See:  The 8th Judicial Circuit includes Abbeville CountyLaurens County and Newberry County.


History:  The county was created in 1897 and Greenwood was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was designed by Reuben Harrison Hunt and constructed in 1898. The second and present courthouse was constructed as 1966 to 1967.



County Courthouse – Greenwood









Photos taken 2008