Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Carolina » Marlboro County

Marlboro County

Marlboro County is named for John Churchill, 1st Duke of Marlborough.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Anson County, North Carolina, Richmond County, North Carolina and Scotland County, North Carolina

E – Scotland County, North Carolina, Robeson County, North Carolina and Dillon County

S – Florence County

W – Darlington County and Chesterfield County


Created:  March 2, 1875                         Map of South Carolina highlighting Marlboro County

County Seat: 

Pee Dee River  1785 – 1819

Bennettsville     1819 – present


County Courthouse – Bennettsville  


Location:  105 Main Street / Broad Street

Built:  1951 – 1952

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Henry D Harrall

Contractor:  H J Munnerlyn, Inc.


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Bennettsville. The southeast front has vertical pilasters with red colored brick between. The north and south ends of the building have doorways and are faced with light colored concrete blocks. On the center of the roof is a large white colored clock tower with open octagonal cupola at the top. In the interior, the large County Circuit Court courtroom is located along the north side of the second story with windows along the north and south sides. The small courtroom is located on the southwest side of the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County Family Court and County Probate Court of the 4th Judicial Circuit. To the northwest is the County Administration Building at 205 East Market Street. To the southeast is the County Justice Complex at 266 Throop Street housing the County Magistrate Court.


See:  The 4th Judicial District includes Chesterfield CountyDarlington County and Dillon County


History:  The county was created in 1755 and Pee Dee River was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in Pee Dee River in 1785. The county seat was moved to Bennettsville in 1819 and the second courthouse was built. The third courthouse was built in 1852. The fourth courthouse was constructed by Jacob S Allen in 1885. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 1951 to 1952.



County Courthouse – Bennettsville



















County Circuit Court courtroom















County Circuit Court small courtroom











Photos taken 2008 and 2024