Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Carolina » Pickens County

Pickens County

Pickens County is named for Andrew Pickens, who was a United States Representative.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Transylvania County, North Carolina and Greenville County

E – Greenville County

S – Anderson County

W – Oconee County


Created:  December 26, 1826                Map of South Carolina highlighting Pickens County

County Seat: 

Pendleton  1826 – 1868

Pickens      1868 – present


County Courthouse – Pickens 


Location:  214   East Main Street / Pendleton Street

Built:  1959 – 1960

Style:  Georgian Revival

Architect:  Townes & Murphy

Contractor:  Charles J Craig Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Pickens. On the north side, the building has a large portico supported by four thin columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The doorway is framed with white colored wood. There are green colored shutters on the windows. Above the entrance is a small square white colored cupola with green colored roof. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County Family Court and County Probate Court of the 13h Judicial Circuit. The building was expanded on the south side in 1997 with the use of light colored orange brick and concrete. The main entrance is now on the south side with a semi-circular entrance section.  The architect was FJ Clark Incorporated and the contractor was M B Kahn Construction Company, Inc.


See:  The 13th Judicial Circuit includes Greenville County.


History:  The county was created in 1826 and Pendleton was selected as the county seat, The first courthouse was designed by Thomas M Sloan and built in Pendleton in 1826. When Pickens County was divided, Pickens became the county seat and the second courthouse was built by Reid and Wilson at Pickens in 1868. The third courthouse was designed by L C Mitchum and constructed by Robert E Bowen and Elias Day in 1891. An addition was added in 1909. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed by 1959 to 1960.


Note:  The highest point in South Carolina is Sassafras Mountain at 3548 feet ( 1081 meters ) which is located in the county.



County Courthouse – Pickens















Photos taken 2008 and 2013