Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Idaho » Bingham County

Bingham County

Bingham County is named for Henry H Bingham, who was a general during the American Civil War and a Congressman from Pennsylvania..


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Butte County,  Jefferson County and Bonneville County

E – Bonneville County

S – Caribou CountyBannock County and Power County

W – Power County, Blaine County and Butte County


Created:  January 13, 1885                                                        Map of Idaho highlighting Bingham County

County Seat: 

Blackfoot  1885 – present


County Courthouse – Blackfoot 


Location:  501 North Maple Street / Allen Street

Built:  1986 – 1987

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Ken E Douglas

Contractor:  Arrington Construction


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story buff colored brick, concrete and glass style structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Blackfoot. The center section of the southeast front is recessed on the second story with sloped roof on the extended glass walled first story. The windows are horizontal.  The roof line is flat. In the interior is an open two story atrium at the entrance with stairs ascending to the second story. There are five courtrooms located on the second story. The building houses the County District Court and County Magistrate Court of the 7th Judicial District. 


See:  The 7th Judicial District includes Bonneville CountyButte CountyClark CountyCuster CountyFremont CountyJefferson County, Lemhi County, Madison County and Teton County.


History:  The county was created in 1885 and Blackfoot was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story structure designed by Frank C Woods and built by R H Hopkins in 1885 at a cost of $19,250. The courthouse was remodeled in 1957 at a cost of $125,000. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1986 to 1987 at a cost of $5,000,000.



County Courthouse – Blackfoot













Photos taken 2011