Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Idaho » Caribou County

Caribou County

Caribou County is named for the Caribou Mountains, which were named for Cariboo Fairchild, who was a prospector and who discovered gold in the area.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Bingham County and Bonneville County

E – Lincoln County, Wyoming

S – Bear Lake County and Franklin County 

W – Bannock County


Created:  February 11, 1919                                                       Map of Idaho highlighting Caribou County

County Seat: 

Soda Springs  1919 – present


County Courthouse – Soda Springs 


Location:  159 South Main Street / West Center Street

Built:  1919 – 1920

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  C K Bocker

Contractor:  C K Bocker


Description:  The building  faces west and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Soda Springs. The building has a raised basement. The west front has a central entrance with small pediment above. A wide cornice runs below the first story windows. A wide white band runs below the eaves above the second story windows. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County District Court and County Magistrate Court of the 6th Judicial District. 


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Caribou County Courthouse


See:  The 6th Judicial District includes Bannock CountyBear Lake County, Franklin CountyOneida County and Power County.


History:  The county was created in 1919 and Soda Springs was selected as the county seat. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1919 to 1920 at a cost of $68,990.



County Courthouse – Soda Springs









Commissioner Minutes – contract bid

Photos taken 2011