Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Idaho » Bannock County

Bannock County

Bannock County is named for the Bannock Native American tribe.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Bingham County

E – Caribou County and Franklin County

S – Franklin County

W – Oneida County and Power County


Created:  March 6, 1893                                                             Map of Idaho highlighting Bannock County

County Seat: 

Pocatello  1893 – present


County Courthouse – Pocatello


Location:  624 East Center Street / North 5th Avenue

Built:  1953 – 1954

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Ray S Hunter and Cedric M Allen

Contractor:  C H Elle Construction Company


Description:  The building  faces southeast and is a three story buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Pocatello. On the southeast front, the center section projects slightly and rises above the flat roof line with a clock at the top. A white colored band runs between the second and third story horizontal windows. The building houses the County District Court, County Juvenile and County Magistrate Court of the 6th Judicial District. On the north side is the County Office Building.


See:  The 6th Judicial District includes Bear Lake CountyCaribou CountyFranklin CountyOneida County and Power County.


History:  The county was created in 1893 and Pocatello was selected as the county seat. The county used rented premises. The first courthouse was a three story brick structure built in 1902. An addition was built in 1913. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1953 to 1954.



County Courthouse – Pocatello









Photos taken 2011 and 2012