Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Idaho » Bonneville County

Bonneville County

Bonneville County is named for Benjamin L E Bonneville, who was a French born explorer and who lived from 1796 to 1878.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Jefferson CountyMadison County and Teton County

E – Teton County, Wyoming and Lincoln County, Wyoming

S – Caribou County and  Bingham County 

W – Bingham County 


Created:  February 7, 1911                                                        Map of Idaho highlighting Bonneville County

County Seat: 

Idaho Falls  1911 – present


County Courthouse  – Idaho Falls 


Location:  605 North Capital Avenue / C Street

Built:  1920 – 1921

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Charles Aitken and Lionel E Fisher

Contractor:  W H Holden and E M Holden


Description:  The building  faces east and is a two story brick, stucco, sandstone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Idaho Falls. The east front has a projecting center section with recessed entrance. The roof line is flat. The interior has marble stairs which lead up to a wide hallway which opens up into the central foyer. All floors in these public spaces are of white colored vitreous mosaic tile and an Alaska marble wainscot graces the walls. The woodwork and beamed and paneled ceiling also remain in their original form. The central foyer has a balustraded square opening which looks down to the ground floor. The stained glass skylight with the Bonneville county crest is above this opening. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County District Court and County Magistrate Court of the 7th Judicial District. On the south side is a modern addition which is attached to the main building.


Note:  Other contractors were North Pacific Construction Company, S K and George Mittry to complete the building, and to Tarbet Heating and Plumbing to install the plumbing and heating works. There was no money left to pay the remainder of the amount incurred by the Mittry brothers of $18,880 and the company went out of business.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Bonneville County Courthouse


See:  The 7th Judicial District includes Bingham CountyButte CountyClark CountyCuster CountyFremont CountyJefferson County, Lemhi County, Madison County and Teton County.


History:  The county was created in 1911 and Idaho Falls was designated as the county seat. The county used rented premises. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1921 to 1922 at a cost of $250,000.



County Courthouse – Idaho Falls









County Courthouse Addition – Idaho Falls

Photos take 2011