Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Idaho » Madison County

Madison County

Madison County is named for James Madison, who was the fourth President of the United States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Fremont County

E – Teton County

S – Bonneville County and Jefferson County

W – Jefferson County


Created:  February 18, 1913                                                      Map of Idaho highlighting Madison County

County Seat: 

Rexburg  1913 – present


County Courthouse – Rexburg 


Location:  159 East Main Street / North 2nd East Street

Built:  1920 – 1921

Style:  Beaux Arts / Classical Revival

Architect:  C A Sundberg  of Rexburg

Contractor:  Charles Zollinger of Rexburg


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure.The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Rexburg. The south front has a projecting center section with recessed entrance having two columns on either side and balustrade on the second story. The building has a buff-colored pressed brick veneer laid in common bond. There are vertical divers along the front. The roof line is flat. The interior retains a number of period features, including its plan, marble and tile hall floor, marble wainscoting in the hallway and stairwells, plaster walls, ceiling moldings, hallway pilasters, wood door moldings and single-Dane office doors. The large courtroom is located on the first story and the smaller courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County District Court and County Magistrate Court of the 7th Judicial District. On the west and north sides is a new addition.


See:  The architect, C A Sundberg of Rexburg also designed the courthouses in Power County and Teton CountyThe contractor, Charles Zollinger of Rexburg also constructed the courthouse in Teton County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Madison County Courthouse


See:  The 7th Judicial District includes Bingham CountyBonneville CountyButte CountyClark CountyCuster CountyFremont CountyJefferson County, Lemhi County and Teton County.


History:  The county was created in 1913 and Rexburg was designated as the county seat. The first offices were leased in the old Webster–Winter building at the southwest corner of East Main and 1st Street. The old dance hall in the building was made into a court room and public and private offices, and a jail of four cells was built at the rear of the building. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1920 to 1921.


County Administration Building – Rexburg 



Location:   134 East Main Street / South 1st East Street

Built:  Unknown

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building  faces east and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Rexburg to the southwest of the courthouse. The roof line is flat.



County Courthouse – Rexburg





















County Administration Building – Rexburg





Photos taken 2011 and 2015