Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Idaho » Lincoln County

Lincoln County

Lincoln County is named for Abraham Lincoln, who was a member of Congress from Illinois ( 1847-1849 and President of the United States ( 1861-1865 ).


urroundinmg ounty Courthouses: 

N – Camas County and Blaine County

E – Minidoka County

S – Minidoka County and Jerome County

W – Gooding County


Created:  March 18, 1895                                                           Map of Idaho highlighting Lincoln County

County Seat: 

Shoshone   1895 – present


County Courthouse – Shoshone  


Location:  111 West B Street / South Greenwood Street

Built:  1903 – 1904

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  H J Hefty of Portland, Oregon

Contractor:  O J Brennan


Description:  The building  faces north and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Shoshone. The north front has a projecting center section with the entrance on the first story, large window on the second story and two arched windows on the third story rising to a peak. At the entrance is an extended canopy. The base of the building is stone and the roof is hipped. In the interior, the courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County District Court and County Magistrate Court of the 5th Judicial District. 


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Blaine CountyCamas CountyCassia CountyGooding CountyJerome CountyMinidoka County and Twin Falls County.


History:  The county was created in 1895 and Shoshone was selected as the county seat. The county used rented premises. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1903 to 1904.



County Courthouse – Shoshone  

















Photos taken 2011