Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Idaho » Camas County

Camas County

Camas County is named for the Camassia, which is plant species important as a food source among Native Americans and early settlers.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Blaine County

E – Blaine County

S – Lincoln County and Gooding County

W – Elmore County


Created:  February 6, 1917                                                        Map of Idaho highlighting Camas County

County Seat: 

Fairfield  1912 – present


County Courthouse – Fairfield 


Location:  501 Soldiers Road / Willow Avenue West

Built:  1915 – 1916

Style:  Federal

Architect:  Local builders

Contractor:  Local builders


Description:  The building  faces east and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on the street corner in the center of Fairfield and was a former bank. The main entrance is on the north side of the east front. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County District Court courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County District Court and County Magistrate Court of the 5th Judicial District. On the west side is the white colored addition.


Note:  The courthouse was once the first bank in Fairfield managed by George Horrell who supervised the construction. The bank folded under uncertain circumstances and George Horrell spent some time in prison for his involvement. The County moved into the building in 1935.


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Blaine CountyCassia CountyGooding CountyJerome CountyLincoln CountyMinidoka County and Twin Falls County.


History:  The county was created in 1917 and Fairfield was selected as the county seat. The county used rented premises. The first and present courthouse was a bank building built in 1915 to 1916 and occupied as the courthouse in 1935.



County Courthouse – Fairfield









County District Court courtroom



Photos taken 2011 and 2015