Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Idaho » Twin Falls County

Twin Falls County

Twin Falls County is named for the Twin Falls on the Snake River.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Gooding County and Jerome County

E – Cassia County

S – Elko County, Nevada

W – Owyhee County and Elmore County


Created:  February 21, 1907                                                      Map of Idaho highlighting Twin Falls County

County Seat: 

Twin Falls  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Twin Falls 


Location:  425 Shoshone Street North / 4th Avenue North

Built:  1966 – 1967

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  C Harvey Smith

Contractor:  George Curley of Salt Lake City, Utah


Description:  The building  faces southeast and is a four story buff colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Twin Falls. The base of the building is stone.The southeast front has a large portico with four Ionic columns of Bedford limestone rising from the second story to a wide pediment at the roof line. The entrance has a circular window above the framed doorway. A Bedford limestone cornice runs below the flat roof line. In the interior is a grand staircase and a central atrium with large skylight. Along the east side is the County Judicial Annex.


County Judicial Annex – Twin Falls 



Location:  425 Shoshone Street North / 4th Avenue North

Built:  1966 – 1967

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Reynolds Construction Company


Description:  The building  faces southwest and is a one story buff and red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Twin Falls on the east side of the courthouse. The entrance projects from the building and has a concrete frame and glass walls. There are a few vertical windows. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County District Court and County Magistrate Court of the 5th Judicial District. The building was enlarged in 1977.


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Blaine CountyCamas CountyCassia CountyGooding CountyJerome CountyLincoln County and Minidoka County


History:  The county was created in 1907 and Twin Falls was selected as the county seat. The county used rented premises. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1911 to 1912. The County Judicial Annex was constructed in 1966 to 1967.



County Courthouse – Twin Falls















County Judicial Annex – Twion Falls











Snake River Canyon Bridge



Soshone Falls – Snake River





Photos taken 2011