Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Maryland » Washington County

Washington County

Washington County is named for George Washington, who was the first President of the United States from 1789 to 1797.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Fulton County, Pennsylvania and Franklin County, Pennsylvania

E – Frederick County

S – Loudon County, Virginia, Jefferson County, West Virginia, Berkeley County, West Virginia, and  Morgan County, West Virginia

W – Alleghany County


Created:  September 6, 1776                 Map of Maryland highlighting Washington County

County Seat: 

Hagerstown  1776 – present


County Courthouse – Hagerstown 


Location:  95 West Washington Street / Summit Avenue

Built:  1872 – 1874

Style:  Italianate

Architect:  Henry A Simms and James F Simms of Philadelphia

Contractor:  Robert C Thornburg


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a two story red colored brick and brownstone structure. The building is located in the center of Hagerstown. The northeast front has a slightly projecting center section with entrance on the first story having a small stone pediment above. The center section rises above the roof line and has a mansard roof. A horizontal cornice runs between the first and second stories. The windows are arched with higher windows along the second story. On each corner are square towers with mansard roofs.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Washington County Courthouse


County Courts Building – Hagerstown 



Location:  24 Summit Avenue / West Washington Street

Built:  1961 – 1963

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a three story concrete and glass structure. The building is located on the southwest side of the courthouse in the center of Hagerstown. The northwest front has three vertical pillars with a recessed entrance with windows above on the second and third stories. The roof line is flat. The building was renovated in 1992. The architect was J C Burrey and the contractor was Morgan-Keller, Inc.


See:  The 4th Judicial Circuit includes Garrett County and Alleghany County.


History:  The county was created in 1776 and Hagerstown was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in the middle of the town square in 1775 and served also as a market house. The second courthouse designed by B H Latrobe and constructed by Thomas Harbaugh in 1818 to 1822 at a cost of $52,512. The architect was Benjamin H Latrobe and the contractor was Thomas Harbaugh. The courthouse burned on December 6, 1871 and was rebuilt in 1872 to 1874 as the third and present courthouse. The Courthouse Annex was constructed in 1961 to 1963.



County Courthouse – Hagerstown



























County Courts Building – Hagerstown









Photos taken 2012