Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Maryland » Prince George’s County

Prince George’s County

Prince George’s County is named for Prince George of Denmark, who was the husband of Queen Anne I of Great Britain.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Montgomery County and Howard County

E – Anne Arundel County and Calvert County

S – Charles County

W – Fairfax County, Virginia, Alexandria, Virginia and Washington D.C.


Created:  October 3, 1695                      Map of Maryland highlighting Prince George's County

County Seat: 

Mount Calvert    1696 – 1721

Upper Marlboro  1721 – present


Old County Courthouse – Upper Marlboro  


Location:  14735 Main Street / Water Street

Built:  1881 – 1882

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Frank Davis

Contractor:  William A Jarboe


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Upper Marlboro.  The building has three wings. The north front has a portico with four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. On the center of the roof is a square white colored cupola. With black colored dome. The roof is hipped. An addition was constructed in 1908 and designed by B F Smith. An addition was constructed in 1940, designed by Upman & Adam and constructed by Joseph Light Construction Company. An addition was constructed in 1947 and  an  addition was constructed in 1960. The architect was John M Walton and Denis W Madden and contractor was John Tester & Company.


County Courthouse – Upper Marlboro  



Location:  14735 Main Street / Water Street

Built:  1991 – 1993

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Helmuth, Obata & Kassabaum

Contractor:  Turner Construction Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a four story red colored brick and concrete structure.  The south center section projects from the main building rising three stories with a semi-circular recessed section rising to the roof line. The windows are horizontal. The building is along the south side of the old courthouse.


See:  The 7th Judicial Circuit includes Calvert CountyCharles County and Saint Mary’s County.


Old County Courthouse – Upper Marlboro

















County Courthouse – Upper Marlboro













Photos taken 2013