Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Illinois » Warren County

Warren County

Warren County is named for Joseph Warren, who was a pioneer, physician and soldier killed at Bunker Hill during the American revolutionary War. 


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Mercer County

E – Knox County and Fulton County

S – McDonough County 

W – Henderson County


Created:  January 13, 1825                                                        Map of Illinois highlighting Warren County

County Seat:

Oquawaka  1830 – 1836

Monmouth   1836 – present


County Courthouse – Monmouth


Location:  100 West Broadway Avenue / North Main Street

Built:  1894 – 1895

Style:  Richardsonian Romanesque

Architect:  O W Marble

Contractor:  C A Moses


Description: The building faces south and is a three story red colored sandstone structure. The south front has high stone steps to a triple square opening with the entrance doorway recessed in the center. The front wall rises to a peaked roof. The windows on the third story are arched. In the center of the building, there is a large square red stone tower with opening at the top.


See:  The 9th Judicial District includes Fulton CountyHancock County, Henderson CountyKnox County and McDonough County.


History:  The county was created in 1825 and Oquawaka was selected as the county seat in 1830 and no courthouse was built. In 1831, a satellite courthouse was built in Monmouth and then a second courthouse in 1835. The county seat was moved to Monmouth in 1836 and the third courthouse was large structure built in 1836 to 1841. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1894 to 1895 at a cost of $130,000.



County Courthouse – Monmouth 





















Photos taken 2007 and 2012