Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Iowa » Harrison County

Harrison County

Harrison County is named for William H Harrison, who was the ninth President of the United States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Monona County and Crawford County

E – Shelby County 

S – Pottawattomie County

W – Washington County, Nebraska and Burt County, Nebraska


Created:  January 15, 1851                    Map of Iowa highlighting Harrison County

County Seat:

Magnolia  1851 – 1876

Logan      1876 – present


County Courthouse – Logan


Location:  111 North 2nd Avenue / East 7th Street

Built:  1910 – 1911

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Joseph E Mills of Detroit, Michigan

Contractor:  W J McAlpine


Description: The building faces east and is a three story Bedford limestone, buff colored brick and concrete  style structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Logan. The building has a large rectangular protruding portico with recessed windows on the second and third stories. The north and south wings extend from the main building. The base of the building is course stone. On the center of the roof is square dome which is 77 feet from the ground. The interior is richly appointed. There is a lozenge-shaped rotunda rising to a dome at the roof, patterned title floors and a metal staircase. Four murals by Frank Enders of Milwaukee, Wisconsin are placed in the main stairway. They were all done on canvas that was attached to the wall. The murals portray the old courthouse in Magnolia, the first courthouse in Logan, a horn of plenty theme and Lady Justice. The County District Court courtroom is located on the north side of the third story. The building houses the County District Court of the 4th Judicial District. 


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Harrison County Courthouse


See:  The 4th Judicial District includes Audubon County, Cass CountyFremont CountyMills CountyMontgomery CountyPage CountyPottawattomie County and Shelby County


Old County Courthouse ( demolished ) – Magnolia


Location:  895 Main Street / Elm Street

Built:  1873

Style:  Federal

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description: The building faced south and was a one story red colored brick and wood structure. The building was located on landscaped grounds in the center of Magnolia. The building was originally a two story frame structure and was faced with red colored brick. The building was used as a courthouse until 1876 when the county seat was moved to Logan. The building was demolished.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Old County Courthouse- Magnolia


History:  The county was created in 1851 and Magnolia was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log cabin built which was destroyed by fire. The second courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1854 to 1855. The third courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1873. In 1876 the county seat was moved to Logan and the fourth courthouse was built in Logan by Yelsley & Stowell in 1876 at a cost of $14,000. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 1910 to 1911 at a cost of $103,000.



County Courthouse – Logan



























County District Court courtroom













Photos taken 2008, 2022 and 2023