Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Iowa » Mitchell County

Mitchell County

Mitchell County is named for John Mitchell, who was an Irish patriot.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Mower County, Minnesota 

E – Howard County

S – Floyd County

W – Cerro Gordo County and Worth County


Created:  January 15, 1851                    Map of Iowa highlighting Mitchell County

County Seat:

Mitchell  1851 – 1870

Osage    1870 – present


County Courthouse ( demolished ) – Osage


Location:  508 State Street / South 5th Street

Built:  1858 ( demolished 2014 )

Style:  Italianate, Greek and Gothic

Architect:  John C Bishop

Contractor:  John Robb, S B Chase and Jacob I Chase of Osage


Description: The building faced north and was a two story red colored brick and wood  structure. The building was located on landscaped grounds in the center of Osage. The south front had a large porch with four large columns rising to the top of the second story. Above the porch \was a square white colored wood cupola with silver colored dome. The roof was hipped. On the east side a section projected from the main building. In 1879 to 1882, two story wings were constructed on the east and west sides. In 1926, a short wing was constructed on the south side. An addition was built in 1976. The building was razed in 2014 for construction of the new courthouse.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Mitchell County Courthouse


County Courthouse – Osage



Location:  212 South 5th Street / State Street

Built:  2014 – 2015

Style:  Modern

Architect:  FEH Architects, Inc.

Contractor:  Henkel Construction Company of Mason City


Description: The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Osage and is a square shaped. The west front has a portico with four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The south and north sides have high porticoes with white colored columns. The roof is hipped. with square cupola. The second story has a Magistrate Court courtroom and a larger County District Court courtroom. The building houses the County District Court of the 2A Judicial District. 


See:  The 2A Judicial District includes Bremer County, Butler County, Cerro Gordo County, Floyd CountyFranklin CountyHancock CountyWinnebago County and Worth County.


History:  The county was created in 1851 and Osage was designated as the county seat. The county officers met in private homes. The first courthouse was built in 1858 in 1858 at a cost of $25,000. In 1870, the county seat was finally moved to Osage. The courthouse was razed in 2014 when the second and present courthouse was constructed in 2014 to 2015 at a cost of $6,580,000.



County Courthouse ( demolished ) – Osage









Former County District Court courtroom



Former Commissioner’s Meeting Room



Commissioner Minutes 1858



County Courthouse – Osage













County District Court courtroom













Construction 2015



Photos taken 2008, 2010, 2015 and 2017