Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Iowa » Ringgold County

Ringgold County


Ringgold County is named for Samuel B Ringgold, who was a soldier killed in the American-Mexican War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Union County

E – Decatur County

S – Harrison County, Missouri and Worth County, Missouri 

W – Taylor County


Created:  February 24, 1847                  Map of Iowa highlighting Ringgold County

County Seat:

Mount Ayr  1853 – present


County Courthouse – Mount Ayr


Location:  109 West Madison Street / North Taylor Street

Built:  1926 – 1927

Style:  Tudor Revival and Classical Revival

Architect:  Keffer & Jones

Contractor:  L T Grisman Company


Description: The building faces north and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Mount Ayr. The building is 86 feet by 91 feet. White colored stone trim runs horizontally between the first and second stories and above the third story where a stone cornice projects. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the walls and floors are marble. The marble staircase ascends to the third story. A square shaped light well extends up from the second story to a large skylight. The County Magistrate Court courtroom is located on the southwest side of the third story. The County District Court courtroom is located on the east side of the third story. The walls of the courtroom are marble. The building houses the County District Court of the 5B Judicial District. To the southeast at 201 East Monroe Street is the Old County Jail designed by James McCombs and built by Pauly Jail and Manufacturing Company in 1895.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Ringgold County Courthouise and Old County Jail


See:  The 5B Judicial District includes Adair County. Clarke CountyDecatur CountyLucas County, Taylor CountyUnion County and Wayne County.


History:  The county was created in 1847 and Mount Ayr was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1856. The courthouse was destroyed by a cyclone on June 8, 1858. The second courthouse was built of native lumber in 1858 at a cost of $3,500. The third courthouse was a brick and stone structure designed by Eckel & Mann and built by R K Allen in 1883 at a cost of $36,455. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1926 to 1927 at a cost of $132,533.



County Courthouse – Mount Ayr 































County District Court courtroom















Photos taken 2008, 2023 and 2024